Donate to SSPP!

© Copyright 2017 by Southern Society for Philosophy and Psychology.

Proudly created with

  • Facebook Social Icon

Connect with us on Facebook!

Click Here to Donate to SSPP! We rely on donations to provide travel grants to deserving students, and other donations to the General Fund are used to help with annual meeting costs and special events.

Webmaster Contact Info

Dr. Karin Machluf

The 112th Annual SSPP Meeting will be held in

Louisville, Kentucky! 

Join us this year for the 112th Annual SSPP Meeting in Louisville, Kentucky at the Historic Brown Hotel!

Dates:     March 12- 14, 2020

Location: The Brown Hotel

               335 West Broadway,

               Louisville, KY 40202

Program Highlights 

President’s Address

Emily Elliott

Louisiana State University


President’s Invited Speaker

David Balota

Washington University in St. Louis

Invited Joint Session Topics

Psychedelic Epistemology

Valence in Perception

Prejudice and Stigma 

Philosophy Program


Invited Speakers

Frances Egan 

Rutgers University

Valerie Tiberius

University of Minnesota



Invited Symposia

Knowledge vs. Opinion

Mina Cikara (Harvard)

Eric Mandelbaum (CUNY)

Jennifer Nagel (Toronto)

Aaron Zimmerman (UC Santa Barbara)


Smell and Space

Clare Batty (Kentucky)

Lucia Jacobs (Berkeley)

Mohan Matthen (Toronto)


Psychedelic Epistemology (Joint Session)

Jeremy Goodman (USC)

Chris Letheby (Western Australia)

Link Swanson (Minnesota)

Franklin King, M.D. (Partners, Boston) 

others TBA


Valence in Perception (Joint Session)

Hilla Jacobson (Hebrew University)

Frederique de Vignemont (Jean Nicod)

others TBA

Mental Illness & Mental Agency

Ellen Fridland (King’s College)

Zachary Irving (Virginia)

Chandra Sripada (Michigan)


Symposium on The Implicit Mind

Michael Brownstein (CUNY)

Peter Railton (Michigan)

Shannon Spaulding (Oklahoma State)

Cat McDonald-Wade (Harvard)


Moral Belief Change & Progress

Zachary Horne (ASU)

Victor Kumar (Boston)

Julia Haas (Rhodes/ANU)


Moral Learning and AI

Sydney Levine (MIT)

Tania Lombrozo (Princeton)

Shaun Nichols (Cornell)

Psychology Program


Invited Speakers

Ralph Hood 

University of Tennessee at Chattanooga

Brooke Macnamara

Case Western Reserve University 

Invited Symposia


Chaired by

Noelle Brown

(Naval Research Laboratory)


Music Cognition

Chaired by

Dan Shenahan

(The Ohio State University)


The Science of Learning

Chaired by

Marci DeCaro

(University of Louisville)



Chaired by

Matt Shake

(Western Kentucky University)

Choice Behavior in Other Species

Chaired by

Mike Beran

(Georgia State University)


2020 SSPP Meeting: Hotel

The SSPP Meeting will be at the Historic Brown Hotel at 335 West Broadway in Louisville, KY from March 12 - 14, 2020.
The convention room rate is $175, plus 16.07% tax. Valet parking rates are $24 and self-parking is $22, plus tax. 
The deadline for making room reservations is February 19, 2020. You can reserve by calling the Hotel directly at 502-583-1234 and referring to the meeting name, calling Central Reservations at 1-888-888-5252, or by going to this link.
If you call to make a reservation, you should state that you will be attending the meeting of the Southern Society for Philosophy and Psychology, and you should request the convention rate.
*Please make your reservations early because the Society is obligated to occupy a block of guest rooms in order to avoid charges to the Society. 

2020 SSPP Meeting: Transportation

The Louisville International Airport (SDF) airport is approx. 7 miles from the hotel. 

There is a city shuttle called "Super Shuttle” that leaves every 15-30 minutes from outside the baggage claim area at the airport.

There are also taxis, which range from $20 to $35 and can be found outside of the baggage claim area. 

Information about Louisville can be obtained at

Information about the Brown Hotel can be obtained at


If you encounter any difficulties in making a reservation, please contact Tad Zawidzki at 

2020 SSPP Meeting: Call for Papers

Submissions are now closed. Please contact program chairs for any questions regarding your submission. 

Direct questions to the Philosophy Program Co-Chairs: Josh May ( & Susanna Siegel (


Direct questions to Psychology Program Co-Chairs, Jill Shelton and Emily Elliott: