top of page


Griffith Memorial Award


Each year during the SSPP meeting, two papers are given special recognition with the Richard M. Griffith Memorial Awards.

The rules for this competition state that:

  • Applicants must either have received their Ph.D. no more than five years prior to the date of the annual meeting at which the paper is presented or must be current candidates for the Ph.D.

  • All Griffith Award applicants must be either SSPP members or applicants for membership in SSPP.

  • Although papers by one author are preferred, in certain circumstances papers by more than one author can be considered. In that case, the eligible nominee for the Griffith Award must be the first author, and it must be clear that the nominee contributed the vast majority of the effort to the project.


If you or one of your students qualifies under the stated rules, the Council encourages submission of a paper. Applicants for the Griffith Award must submit full papers prior to the annual meeting at which they present those papers.

The Griffith Award committee evaluates both the written paper and the presentation at the annual meeting to help determine the winners.


In addition to the award, winners also receive a cash prize of $300. The winners are announced and the cash awards are presented at the business meeting that concludes the conference.

Details are provided in the annual call for papers.

History of the Griffith Memorial Award

If you are interested in learning more about the history of the Griffith Memorial Award, please download this piece by our Psychology Archivist, James Pate 

Previous Winners of the Griffith Memorial Award

Download this document for an updated list of the previous winners of the Griffith Memorial Award

bottom of page